The Literary Cat

In addition to the tortoiseshell, I also share living space with a ginger tabby named…uh…Ginger. Original, right? I also own a Nook tablet, with a lovely screen saver displaying floating bubbles.

Ginger loves bubbles. Sometimes when she pats at them she brings up other documents stored on my tablet. Yesterday morning I interrupted my reading to tend to a load of laundry in the basement. When I got back upstairs, there was Ginger, lying on the bed with her paws tucked under her body and gazing intently at some backlit text.

It was the ending of Incident at Owl Creek Bridge, by Ambrose Bierce. Interesting literary choice. Maybe she thought there were owls in it.

-kf

Leave a Reply

